Global Social Impact Investment Task Force Appoints Members of U.S. National Advisory Board

Washington, DC (October 2, 2013) – The Social Impact Investment Task Force announced the members of the United States National Advisory Board (NAB). The 27 NAB members come from both the business and non-profit sectors and will work to enhance and supplement the work of the U.S. representatives to the Social Impact Investing Task Force, which was launched at the United Kingdom’s G8 Social Impact Investment Forum in June 2013.

Co-chaired by Matt Bannick, managing partner of Omidyar Network, and Tracy Palandjian, CEO and co-founder of Social Finance U.S., the NAB will support the development of an impact investing policy agenda in the United States. The NAB will:

• Provide counsel to the two U.S. representatives to the Social Impact Investment Task Force to ensure U.S. priorities for impact investing are incorporated into Task Force recommendations;
• Actively outreach to key stakeholders and communities to solicit feedback and ideas;
• Create a set of recommendations to advance impact investing in the United States; and,
• Disseminate NAB recommendations to key audiences.

NAB Members include:

Matt Bannick, Omidyar Network (co-chair)
Antony Bugg-Levine, Nonprofit Finance Fund
Jean Case, Case Foundation
David Chen, Equilibrium Capital
Audrey Choi, Morgan Stanley
Maya Chorengel, Elevar Equity
Cathy Clark, Duke University
Kimberlee Cornett, Kresge Foundation
William Foster, Bridgespan Group
Seth Goldman, Honest Tea
John Goldstein, Imprint Capital
Josh Gotbaum, Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp
Michelle Greene, NYSE Euronext
Sean Greene, Revolution
Ben Hecht, Living Cities
Andrew Kassoy, B Lab
Zia Khan, Rockefeller Foundation
Clara Miller, F.B. Heron Foundation
Elizabeth Littlefield, Overseas Private Investment Corporation
Tracy Palandjian, Social Finance U.S. (co-chair)
Stewart Paperin, Soros Economic Development Fund
Andrea Phillips, Goldman Sachs
Luther Ragin, Global Impact Investing Network
Curtis Ravenel, Bloomberg LP
Harold Rosen, Grassroots Business Fund
Debra Schwartz, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
Darren Walker, Ford Foundation

“Impact investing is one of the most underutilized, but promising, tools we have for tackling our more intractable global challenges,” said Bannick. “The G8 recognized this by setting up the Social Impact Investment Task Force; and the United States, in particular, has extensive expertise and leadership to lend to this effort. We have assembled some of the most knowledgeable people in the country from a range of sectors; and, together, we hope to advance our collective understanding on how to promote the global market for social investment.”

In addition to co-chairing the NAB, Bannick serves as one of two U.S. representatives to the Social Impact Investment Task Force. His appointment and that of Don Graves, deputy assistant secretary for small business, community development and housing policy at the U.S. Department of the Treasury, was announced by Jonathan Greenblatt, special assistant to the President and director of the Office of Social Innovation and Civic Participation, at the Social Capital Markets Conference (SOCAP) in San Francisco on September 4, 2013.

About G8 Social Impact Investing Task Force

The Social Impact Investment Task Force met for the first time this week. It was launched by UK Prime Minster David Cameron at the G8 meeting in London in June 2013, and is comprised of public and private sector representatives from the G8 countries. Its purpose is to create the policy framework required to accelerate impact investing, establish a common global approach for measuring social outcomes, and encourage greater engagement across foundations, institutions and private investors. The Task Force is chaired by Sir Ronald Cohen, founder of Big Society Capital.

Task Force members include:

Canada: Ted Anderson (MaRS Centre for Impact Investing) and Siobhan Harty (Employment and Social Development Canada)
European Union: Lieve Fransen (European Commission)
France: Hugues Sibille (Crédit Coopératif) and Nadia Voisin (Ministry of Foreign Affairs)/ Claude Leroy-Themeze (Treasury, Ministry of Economy and Finance)
Germany: Brigitte Mohn (Bertelsmann Foundation) and Susanne Dorasil (Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development)
Italy: Giovanna Melandri (Uman Foundation) and Mario Calderini (University of Turin Politecnico) / Mario Latorre (La Sapienza University Rome)
UK: Sir Ronald Cohen (Big Society Capital and The Portland Trust) and Kieron Boyle (Cabinet Office)
USA: Matt Bannick (Omidyar Network) and Don Graves (Department of Treasury)


For more information contact:
Maura Donlan (202) 446-7500
[email protected]